Race report

Søren Kragh Andersen 9th in mountain TT, Andreas Leknessund holds onto the white jersey

Tour de Suisse

A mountainous time trial lay ahead of the riders this afternoon at the Tour de Suisse. Starting from Disentis Sedrun, a couple of kilometres of flat led into the challenging Oberalppass, with its six and a half percent average gradient for just over nine kilometres. Once over the top, it would be a full speed descent to the finish in Andermatt with riders reaching speeds of almost three figures.

Looking to build on his good ride from the opening day’s race against the clock, Søren Kragh Andersen rode an incredibly well measured ascent where he beat the current best time at the intermediate check point by over 30 seconds. Continuing his effort on the descent, he expertly took on the corners, managing to maintain as much speed as possible before crossing the line for a time of 37 minutes and six seconds; moving into the provisional hot seat. Unfortunately his time would be bettered by some climbers and GC riders, with Kragh Andersen ending the day in a good ninth place for the team.

Andreas Leknessund and Thymen Arensman showed their good climbing legs by producing strong rides out on course, with the former doing enough to hold onto the lead of the white jersey for the team going into tomorrow’s final stage.

“I did what I could out there,” said Kragh Andersen after the finish. “It was an okay performance from me but there were some other guys who were faster. I don’t think i could have gone any faster up the climb or in the corners on the downhill so I’m satisfied with the ride.”

Team DSM coach Marc Reef added: “It was a tough TT today and we went for it with the guys. They all did a good job pacing themselves well over the tricky course. Søren finished ninth in the end, showing his shape is improving, while Andreas also did a good TT which gives a bit more breathing space for the young riders’ jersey. Tomorrow we have our last day here in the mountains and we will see how we approach it; we’re looking forward to it.”


Pos. Rider Team Time Points
1 URÁN Rigoberto EF Education - Nippo 36:02 60
2 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Deceuninck - Quick Step 0:40 25
3 MÄDER Gino Bahrain - Victorious 0:54 10
9 KRAGH ANDERSEN Søren Team DSM 1:04 -
19 LEKNESSUND Andreas Team DSM 1:52 -
22 ARENSMAN Thymen Team DSM 2:04 -
30 BENOOT Tiesj Team DSM 2:35 -
35 DONOVAN Mark Team DSM 2:57 -
62 SÜTTERLIN Jasha Team DSM 4:00 -
64 COMBAUD Romain Team DSM 4:02 -