Elise
Uijen

Residency
Herpen, Netherlands
Age
18
Nickname
Not got one!
Hobbies
Cooking and dog walking
Favourite food
BBQ
Favourite holiday destination
Canary Islands
Favourite TV show
I don’t watch much TV!
Favourite race
Ronde van Vlaanderen

Hailing from the Netherlands, Elise has raced both on the track and the road as a junior, picking up several good results throughout her early career, as she now makes the step to Team DSM.

“The first feelings and impressions I got from the team; I already felt at home, so it was an easy decision to make. We had a lot of talks through the winter already and it felt like a natural progression – we understand each other.”

Taking part in several different sports when she was at school alongside dance classes, from a young age Elise only really had eyes for the bike, despite not being brought up in a cycling family.

“When I was young, I soon knew that I wanted to cycle. My parents supported me through every step, which I am so grateful for. Together we had lots of fun and made great memories.”

Someone who just loves riding their bike no matter what, Elise relishes the hard training sessions but also appreciates going out for a chilled recovery ride and taking in all her surroundings.

A bubbly and outgoing character, Elise is confident and self-assured but is also a driven individual, like most professional athletes. Acknowledging the big step up from Juniors to the Women’s WorldTour, Elise feels like Team DSM is the “right place” to make the step, and she just wants to “learn as much as I can”.

Away from the bike, Elise enjoys walking the family dog or cooking with some typical Dutch food her speciality – basically cooked potatoes, some type of greens and meat. A hearty and homely meal!