Race report

Attacking finale in Tour of the Alps opener

Tour of the Alps

Photo Credit: Cor Vos

The Tour of The Alps got underway today with a 140 kilometre long stage from Brixen to Innsbruck. With a climb immediately after the neutralised zone it was a cagey start to the stage before a breakaway trio managed to get clear with all Team DSM riders in the bunch.

Those ahead built up an advantage of 5 minutes and 30 seconds before the gap slowly started to come down as the peloton increased the speed and the kilometres ticked by. Approaching the penultimate ascent with 40 kilometres to go Leon Heinschke positioned the team well towards the front with Henri Vandenabeele executing the same job perfectly on the next lap. Cresting within 20 kilometres to go the team were to the fore, with Nicholas Roche attempting a sneaky attack off the front as the bunch hit the valley roads but unfortunately he wasn’t given any leeway.

The cagey finale continued as the peloton closed down an attacking group of four, with the team helping to contributing to the pace and covering attacks well. On a small uncategorised climb within the closing five kilometres the race winning move was made by Moscon who just held off the chasing peloton. Roche led the team across the line, on the same time as the stage winner.

Photo Credit: Patrick Brunt

“We were going to wait until the sprint but when Moscon went, I thought it was a good move,” explained Roche. “I left it just a few seconds too late and was second on top of climb but never managed to bridge across to him and was caught around two and a half kilometres to go. Romain and Jai did well to follow the other moves on the run in. In the end it was a bit of a messy sprint and I was too far behind to go for a top result at the finish.”

Team DSM coach Matt Winston added: “I think it was a really positive day for us. We were following all of the moves in the finale. We showed some really good teamwork there in those important moments and I think we can be happy with how things went coming out of stage one as we go look towards stage two tomorrow.”


Pos. Rider Team Time Points
1 MOSCON Gianni INEOS Grenadiers 3:29:24 20
2 ANDERSEN Idar Uno-X Pro Cycling Team ,, 10
3 RIABUSHENKO Alexandr UAE-Team Emirates ,, 5
24 ROCHE Nicolas Team DSM ,, -
28 BARDET Romain Team DSM ,, -
29 HINDLEY Jai Team DSM ,, -
75 COMBAUD Romain Team DSM ,, -
98 STORER Michael Team DSM 4:56 -
137 HEINSCHKE Leon Team DSM 7:36 -
138 VANDENABEELE Henri Team DSM ,, -